The Wealth Myth


Over the past one decade, our attitudes and cultural beliefs about wealth has undergone a dramatic change. We have gone from people who’re proponents of hard work being the backbone of wealth to sudden riches overnight. These elusive lifestyle also comes with glamorous images of flamboyance. Today I’ll be discussing the false myths surrounding wealth.

    • Life for the rich is a big party everyday: escapism from life’s’ daily worries does not exclude the rich. Irrespective of the economic divide we belong to as individuals, we all have our fair share of troubles and have to wade through them. If you read through the bio of accomplished men and women, a unifying factor is the hard times they waded through in reaching their goals.
    • Once I hit the jackpot, I can buy anything I want: this is the biggest fallacy amongst the lot I’ve discovered. The rich don’t buy anything and everything, they carefully plan their purchases. Assuming you want to buy a car or build a house, you just don’t wake up one day and start. No! It all begins with the first seed and consistent savings.
    • Whether you like it or not, hard work is the sure path to building wealth. Disregard all the music videos and movies that promotes easy wealth, popping champagne and throwing endless parties. Life does not pan out that way. Four years ago, i had taken the decision to buy a new car but guess what, I didn’t have the liquid cash to buy one even though I could have converted my stock holdings to do this. I felt it was not necessary and took a decision to save for the kind of car I wanted and could afford. I didn’t make that purchase till late last year when I knew I had the cash to make a one-time purchase. The key lesson here; plan, plan and work assiduously to achieve your goals.
    • My current paycheck can’t take me far: hey wake up!!! The BRT lane was not built in a single day. No, No, No!!! When I started working, my monthly paycheck was average even though I had friends who earned thrice the amount I earned but that’s the beauty of ageing.

As you go along your career path, opportunities will come along that’ll increase your earning power. Remember the popular adage ‘little drops of water make a mighty ocean’. Start small and you’ll end big.

Leave a Reply

