Starting Out on Your Own


One of my goals for 2008 was to start my own business. During the course of the year, i’ve had a couple of great ideas that are feasible within the Nigerian local environment. I usually have a notebook where I jot down all these ideas and implementation methods.

Sometimes, I log onto the web to see other business ideas that are succeeding in other countries that I know will be successful in our local environment. Most times, we’re waiting for that bright idea that will propel us into the limelight but there are several solutions that are needed for the common problems we go through within the Nigerian enviroment.

I have taken the bold step by starting out even if everything I need is not ready. I’m ready to start and in the course of the week, i’ll be introducing you to my blog dedicated for this business idea so I can get your feedbacks  and suggestions.

13 thoughts on “Starting Out on Your Own

  1. Bubbles says:

    I look forward to hearing about your proposals and sharing thoughts. There’ll never be a perfect time to start a business, but once you get the ball rolling things will start to fall into place and before you know it you’re up and going.

    You’ve been missed! Good to have you back, 🙂

  2. ABDULLAHI GIDADO SULEIMAN says:

    kindly advice on how to discover a bussiness opportunities,because am despiratelly looking forward to start something additional to what am doing presently.

  3. January says:

    Bubbles, thank you for your kind words. I don’t know if i’m back to blogging full time cos as of now, i can’t give it the kind of dedicationand passion I had when I started last year. You ask why? My MBA program has taken up so much of my time that I have taken out some of my free time to play very hard so I can also study hard. So, for blogging is out of it for now but i’ll be visiting your blog regularly to air my views.

  4. January says:

    Abdullahi, I am not in a position to point you in the direction to go. What i’ll do is send you a guideline on writing your life plan. It’ll give you the guidance you need to start out on your own. I wish you all the best.

  5. Maryam says:

    I too love to own a business one day . According to me, an ideal business would be to own a coffee shop along with a bookstore in it. I would love to own the same shop one fine day,inshallah.

  6. January says:

    Maryam, where do you reside so I can come into your coffe shop to read sumptious books and cappuchinos anytime I’m in your country. That is such a lovely idea. Please make sure you have a small garden with the view of the sea or lake so customers can either recline outside or inside. I can see you serving up two menus ( coffee and recent book reviews) hmm! heavenly

  7. January says:

    Biko Bubbles, how’re you doing and hope you’re through with the blogging blues. I’m sorry I haven’t kept in touch lately, i’ve been busy designing and choosing the template for my business website. I guess I was caught up in the excitement of launching my own business that I didn’t give you an update on my recent activites. Will be blogging about that very soon. Anyway, how are you doing and how’s your husband? take care and keep in touch cos i will. let me g check out this new name of urs….

  8. Nan says:

    We’re great, January, taking life’s challenges as they come. Good to know you are too. Nothing better than having something to do, and clearly you’re very motivated, I just know it’s going to be a success. Can’t wait to read all about it, 🙂

Leave a Reply

