Na Wa Ooo…


Some few months back, when I decided entrepreneurship was the way to go, litle did I know there were so many hurdles to cross. Like Whitney Houston’s aunt sang “many rivers to cross, but I can’t seem to find my way over…”that has been my song while I was trying to scale some of the hurdles involved in starting my business.

Yes, I know what it is I want to do but, there are about 5 or 6 ideas cooling their heels in my notebook and waiting to be unleashed on the deserving public. So what hurdles am I talking about?

First is the issue of setting up a website. I’m sure you’ll agree it’s easier for a camel to pass through the eyes of a needle than a budding entrepreneur try setting and designing a website in our country. In the course of writing up my concept, I had gone to see a website designer and over lunch, after telling him about my concept, he gave me a bill of $2,500. I simply couldn’t believe I had to part with so much money. So, I went back to my drawing board and began to search for an affordable option online. I fell in love with Yahoo, Vistapages, Bluehost and a couple of great web hosting companies for small business and I couldn’t believe all the great bundles each offer came with.

Seondly, after I had decided on the web hosting company, i was going to pitch my tent with, payment was another hurdle. Has anyone tried paying with a Nigerian debit Mastercard, it’s hell. Most times, they kept bouncing my card till I finally got a colleagues wife who resides in America to pay on my behalf. Whew! that was tough. So, for the next two years, I won’t have to bother my head about late payments and all of that.

Now, I can go ahead with the next stage…designing my website. If you ask me it’s been fun. Never knew I had the aptitude to become a webdesigner. Anyway, that’s another story for another day. I’ll keep you posted on my journey towards entrepreneurship.

6 thoughts on “Na Wa Ooo…

  1. Nan says:

    Great to finally hear from you, Jan. Setting up business in Nigeria is not for the weak hearted – don’t even get me started. There are hurdles at every corner (especially if you choose to do things the ‘right way’ as opposed to corner corner means) and just when you think you’ve scaled one, another one gets thrown in your path. The much I know is if you put your heart into something good, success is imminent. I admire your positive attitude, 🙂

    If you ask me $2,500 is a ridiculous amount to pay for a website. There are always cheaper alternatives… plus most of those guys in Naija are out to rip one off. You’d think building a website was like digging for diamonds.

  2. Nan says:

    I have some business ideas that I think will be profitable in Nigeria. The major problem is capital. Maybe we can rub minds sometime. I sure would love to glean from your experience.

  3. January says:

    Nan, see why I love you. U make my head swell atimes. So, let’s start talking about this business idea of yours. U’re welcome to gelan.

  4. Nan says:

    Yey! It was just dancing around my head if one can put all those stray pure water plastics to good use. I hear they’re becoming a major menace, especially in major cities. I was thinking if they could be recycled into building materials.

  5. January says:

    Start your research through google. You’ll be surprised at the number of information you’ll get. You can also start by becoming a member of StartUp Nation (it’s a community of entrepreneurs in America and I have been able to get a lot of insightful thots into the several ideas popping in my head, since I became a member-this I really recommend) just google ‘StartUp Nation’ and you’ll get more help than you ever bargained for. I’m waiting to see what you come up with -it’s an intersting business concept

  6. Nan says:

    Thanks for the referral Jan. I’ve begun my research and already I’m discovering interesting things and different perspectives to what can be done.

    Keep you posted, 🙂

Leave a Reply

