Mother Tongue


I feel like screaming on top of my lungs today….and I really mean it. I am in the middle of recruiting promoters, for a brand campaign, and it is appalling that young people, have a hard time expressing themselves clearly. What are we doing? I have chatted with 10 young people and they couldn’t express themselves in English. For instance, I asked a young man (23 -25years) what he was engaged in, since leaving school and, his response was ‘NOTHING’. I wanted to scream at him “What do you mean by Nothing?” How can you be living within a vaccum? My colleague who noticed my expression, stopped me in time from committing a huge blunder.

Mr. President….what are you doing if you cannot move the nation forward? It is so appalling that you travelled to Saudi Arabia for an opening ceremony of a world class university, while your educational institutions are rotting and have degenerated.

What is so appalling about our situation is that, the situation is not resticted to the Nigerian youth but adults as well. I see so many people living in a vaccum on a daily basis. It is so frustrating. Phew…I am so speechless and I am thinking of how I can turn this situation around. It’s no wonder why most young people have adopted street language as an acceptable form of communication to replace English Language. So much for 7 point Agenda and 2020 vision or whatever.

4 thoughts on “Mother Tongue

  1. F says:

    It’s really sad Jan. This is one of the situations one can lament until one froths in the mouth. Also one of the reasons why I’m working so hard to be successful at that I do because you can’t effect change without the resources. One of my prayers is for God to bless me enough to impact positively on the lives of our youths. There isn’t enough role models of our generation to give them the right impetus, and to help pull them out of the rot; basically to help them help themselves.

    As for our president, don’t get me started. The man looks as if he has one foot in the grave. I saw a speech he gave recently, he was wheezing like he needed oxygen badly. He obviously lacks the strength to steer Nigeria in the right direction. I’ve always been a skeptic and will remain so until I’m convinced someone with their head screwed on properly has been elected and not selected to lead us. 7 point agenda my foot! they can’t even get the basics right they’re building castles in the sky… they should all go to h***!!!! and imagine traveling to Saudi for such an event, shameless b*****d!!!! what’s even worse is he’ll be lucky if an African is allowed to lecture at that university.

  2. January says:

    There’s nothing like a good belly laughter early in the morning. It’s a great way to start the day. F! you simply rock…badass chic you are. Frothing at the mouth? Very comical. Honestly, we need positive role models within this country.

  3. January says:

    Minx, yeah it’s really sad, isn’t it? I can now understand why the EFCC chairperson stated that most of our leaders require psychiatric evaluation based on their tendencies to amass ill-gotten wealth. I mean, where do we go from here?

Leave a Reply

