Wash Day


My cousin came over to visit this weekend and she was amazed when she saw my hair. At the commencement of my hair journey, I was clueless on finger combing, achieving smooth hair locks after air-drying. It’s been 9months since I stepped into a salon to get my hair done (apart from relaxing new growth) and my hair has never been better. So back  to my cousin who I had informed last year about my plans to start my hair journey. She had snorted back then with an unbelieving attitude.

This weekend saw her changing her tunes to ‘OMG!! see your hair, your hair has got so much texture, all your edges are even, tell me what are you using for these edges?’. Suffice to say, she’s commenced her hair journey and after showing her my hair routine and explaining the rationale behind the products I currently used, she went ahead to order products worth N25,000. I never saw that coming.

These were the products I used on my last wash day:

  • Grapeseed Oil
  • Vitale Olive Oil Hair Mayonnaise
  • Roux Porosity Control Corrector and Conditioner

Mixed the products above in an empty container and applied it to my unwashed hair. Voila!! off to bed. Once I woke up in the morning, I washed my hair with Ion Smoothing Shampoo (free from sulfate and sodium chloride). Rinsed my hair with a combo of black and green tea, let it sit for 30minutes before rinsing out. Wrapped my hair using my cotton T-shit and applied a mix of Organic Root Stimulator Replenishing Conditioner and JBCO (Jamaican Black Castor Oil). Covered my hair with 2 shower caps and left it for 2hours while attending to other household chores. Once the time was up, I rinsed out and wrapped my hair with my T-shirt and left it for 30minutes. I recently purchased some self-grip rollers cos I wanted to roller set my hair since its’ been long I wore my hair in curls (girls been missing her curly hair lately). 51s6nUtbpnL._AA160_

I sectioned my hair and doused it with ORS iTea Elastic Leave-in Conditioner and proceeded to roll. Oh, it was exhausting and I had to drop the idea mid-way through as the velcro on the roller kept getting attached to sections of my hair that was dry(still think I need to download more Youtube videos to perfect this). I was scared of ripping my hair out so I doused with more leave-in conditioner and was able to remove the rollers without losing a single strand. The experience left me tired and I simply dozed off to rest my aching arms. By the time I woke up, my hair was stringy and stiff and I was scared to comb it out. I decided to add the ‘new intensive Elasta QP Olive Oil & Mango moisturizing butter’  and immediately my hair became soft and fluffy once more which made combing a breeze.31P2YSANf7L._AA160_

 

 

To top it off I added Paul Mitchell Skinny Serum and Chi Silk Infusion. I ended up with straightened hair and immense volume and thickness. Rolled my hair up in a bun. Will post pictures soon.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Wash Day

  1. Demetrius says:

    I am really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your weblog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one today.

  2. Jay Dave says:

    I’m curious to know why you use so many products all at once? Super skinny serum followed by chi? After using mango butter AND leave in conditioner? I know you may say its working for you, but take a word of caution from someone also on a “journey”. Sometimes less is more, and damage won’t be seen until just that… Damage. Give one or two products time to work. Most of these products already have generous amounts of either moisturizing agents or protein or silicones etc. You wouldn’t want to overload your hair… Other than that, great blog sis! It’s 3am where I am and I’m reading through it all… Best of luck to you and yours!

    • Jan says:

      Hi Jay,

      Thanks for the advice. That particular wash day was a horrific one & I was trying to find a quick fix. Since then I’ve found what works for me which is a mix of Elasta QP Moisturizing Butter, Paul Mitchell Skinny Serum & seal my ends with Grapeseed oil. I’ve worked hard to achieve this healthy head of hair.

Leave a Reply

