Tea Rinses


20130424-113550.jpg20130324-183445.jpg For the past 2months, I’ve been reading up on the benefits of tea rinses for the hair (especially black and green tea). I decided to incorporate it into my hair regimen to test its’ efficacy.

As a rinse in, I really didn’t see the benefit. However, after reading up on another blog about the benefits of using it as a leave-in, I decided to give it a try. On my last wash day, I decided to use green tea instead of black tea. I had earlier watched Tressbuzz deep conditioning treatment on dry hair using tea. I adopted that strategy as well and my hair lapped up the moisture.

Using green tea as a leave-in:

> Boil 2 tea bags and allow to steep overnight.

> Pour tea into an empty trigger spray bottle

Once my hair is 80% dry after deep conditioning, I part my hair into 5 sections (the reason why I now part into 5 sections is due to my nape, which is way shorter than the rest of my hair. I’m paying special attention to my nape to keep it moisturized, thereby achieving growth and length retention). I’m currently 12weeks into my stretch and aiming for 21 weeks before retouching. I spray one section at a time and pay special attention to my scalp and massage the tea onto my scalp and the entire length without drenching. I then apply Elasta QP moisturizing butter & Paul Mitchell Skinny Serum & seal with either castor or grapeseed oil. Voila! my hair (including my new growth) remains soft and retains moisture all week. I also experience minimal shedding i.e. 2- 5 hair strands.

Have a great weekend ahead!!! Tomorrow is my wash day as I co-washed during the week on Wednesday. Will provide an update about the co-washing thingy soon.

One thought on “Tea Rinses

  1. Alejandra says:

    Greetings I am so excited I found your blog, I really found you by
    accident, while I was researching on Google for something else, Regardless I am here
    now and would just like to say many thanks for a
    marvelous post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also
    love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it
    all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added
    your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more,
    Please do keep up the great b.

Leave a Reply

