Co-washing


Co-washing is a term I’d often read about on other blogs. According to other hair bloggers, co-washing is washing your hair with conditioners. African hair is naturally dry because it is difficult for sebum to move down curly textured hair. This is why we all have that extra step of sealing in moisture. I’ve tried co-washing once but didn’t get the hang of it and so I decided to give it a break.

Besides, working within Lagos & it’s hellish traffic leaves little or no room for me to incorporate co-washing as part of my regime. Wednesday was a public holiday and I decided to give co-washing a trial once more. I had gone to visit my parents and usually keep some of the product stash in my room (just in case I’m sleeping over). Since I didn’t have my favourite staple (Mane N’ Tail Detangler), I decided to use Komaza Care Califia Moisturizing Spray. I started by sectioning my hair into 4, sprayed each section with Komaza Care Califia Moisturizing Spray and detangled carefully using my fingers.  Some hair bloggers have suggested the use of cheapie conditioners for a co-wash. Since its not yet a regular regime of mine, I ended up using my staple products (Vitale Hair Mayonnaise, JBCO & ORS Replenishing conditioner).

20130531-092528.jpg

Using Vitale Hair Mayonnaise alone does not give me the slip I get (based on my initial co-wash). Since I started mixing the 3 together, I get more moisturizing slip (the middle section of my hair tends to be dry & I’ve resorted to slathering that section). My new growth loves this mixture. I applied my conditioner mix to each section, covered my hair with my shower caps and left it for 3hours. Once time was up, I rinsed out the conditioner, wrapped my hair with a cotton towel and left my hair to dry. I noticed my new growth had stretched out and it made combing much easier. The beauty of the co-wash was I had little to no shedding. It was an eye opening experience.

Am I going to incorporate co-washing on a regular basis? Honestly I can’t answer that right now. I’ve decided to incorporate it on days where I’m less busy and leave the office early.

2 thoughts on “Co-washing

    • Jan says:

      Candice, you can say that again. No aching arms and spending hours doing my hair. Makes frequent co-washing a temptation I might not be able to resist.

Leave a Reply

