Readers Q&A


Q&AQ: How often should I use Jamaican Black Castor Oil?

A: To avoid product build up, use JBCO 3 times a week. You should know that this oil is thick and it might weigh your hair down if you use it a lot. Always remember a little goes a long way. You can mix it with a lighter oil like Grapeseed oil. I often use my mix of JBCO & Grapeseed oil as a prepoo and sealant.

Q: How often should I steam my hair with JBCO?

A: Depending on your wash or co-wash routine, steaming your hair with JBCO is the same as a hot oil treatment which you can do once a week. Now I’ve got a heat cap, my prepoo on Friday night usually involves using my heat cap for 15minutes.

Q: How do I take care of my demarcation line?

A: When applying your leave-in conditioners, always divide your hair into small sections and apply the leave-in beyond the line of demarcation. It ensures your new growth stays soft and it becomes more manageable. Taking care of your demarcation line prevents hair breakage. Remember to use water based leave-in conditioners such as Komaza Care Califia Moisturising Spray, S-Curl Activator (only apply to the your roots), or my ever dependable Mane N’ Tail Detangler cos it’s got moisturizing elements as well and it delivers.

Q: How do I grow my hair fast?

A: This is the most frequently asked question I receive from readers every week. Your hair grows continually but bad practices deprive us from length. You need to change the habits you’ve subjected your hair to and start taking better care of your hair if you want to see growth happen. Because your hair grows on a daily basis, it is your responsibility to retain the growth you have by incorporating weekly deep conditioning, moisturizing and sealing, using sulfate free shampoos and adhering to a healthy hair regime. Once you do this consistently, you’ll begin to see length.

Q: Can I leave rosemary oil on my scalp overnight?

A: Rosemary oil can either be used as part of your weekly deep conditioning or prepoo. Due to its potency, you only need 3-4 drops which you can add to your JBCO or any carrier oil you currently use (such as Almond, Grapeseed oil e.t.c). If you’re pregnant, it’s advisable to seek your doctor’s advice as Rosemary oil is known to induce labour.

Q: How long does it take for my African hair to be repaired and grow?

A: Your length goals is dependent on you but due to the bad practices you have subjected your hair to in the past, you need to regain a healthy mane before you can retain length. Like I stated earlier, take responsibility for your hair and stop leaving it to hair stylists and you’ll begin to see healthy growth.

 

 

Leave a Reply

