Hair Elite Salon Review


My go to resource for hair care while on vacation has always been ‘Yelp.com’. Depending on the city I’m traveling to, I always go online to search for salons specializing in healthy hair care and read up on client’s review as well. Yelp is a great resource for obtaining down to earth, honest reviews. While planning this trip, I had settled for 2 salons basically Hair Elite & ReviveSpa. I had booked an appointment with both salons informing them about my hair needs since I was planning on a relaxer touch up session.

ReviveSpa later communicated via email that the salon was closed for renovation. I had to go with Hair Elite. My sister had informed me about a lady in their church who had lush, healthy waist length hair. She had asked this lady where she got her hair done and the lady kept mentioning ‘Stevie’. Imagine my delight when we discovered that Stevie owned ‘Hair Elite’.
Yesterday, we finally set off for her salon after confirming our appointment. I had branched at one of this Spaniard grocery store to purchase ORS Relaxer kit.

IMG_2341.JPG

Stevie is the lady on the extreme right wearing the pink top and white bottoms. She was easy to talk to and listened attentively as we discussed my regimen. I told her I brought my relaxer since I observed she only uses Mizani products in her salon. She asked which relaxer I was using and I responded “ORS”. She stated I made the right choice for my fine strands and we were good to go. She spent close to 40mins applying a cream base to my scalp in tiny sections to prevent scalp burns. She did this repeatedly till she was satisfied my scalp and new growth was coated adequately. I was surprised to see that the relaxer was only applied to the 2.5inches of new growth I had.

Then she combed the new growth only once and we were off to rinse the relaxer out. After rinsing out the relaxer, she proceeded to apply a Mizani conditioner (can’t remember which one now) to the newly relaxed growth and we waited for 5minutes only before rinsing out. She explained that the conditioner will restore the moisture stripped by the relaxer.

She proceeded to use the neutralizing shampoo before deep conditioning. The blow drying experience was smooth and in no time my hair was straightened out. After examining my hair and discussing the products I was using, she made some changes and suggestions. Then I told her to cut my hair since we were trying out her own regimen for the next 30days (I’ll discuss this in my upcoming post). She cut it into a layered bob where the sides are much longer and the back is shorter. I called it the ‘C’ bob. Consultation and trimming is free for first time visitors and I only spent $45.00 for a 2hour session.

IMG_2342.PNG

Hair Elite is located on 13420 Hawthorne Road, California and her website is http://www.stevidhair.com.

Leave a Reply

