Fab Find for Christmas


For sometime now, I’ve been in search of a makeup kit that I can store in one place rather than searching haphazardly for my eyeshadow, lip gloss or lipstick each morning while going to work. It used to be tedious searching YouTube for the perfect makeup tutorial that’ll make my face pop without unnecessary drama.
My wish list for Xmas this year was a collection of palette that would suit my  purpose. I searched high and low and wasn’t satisfied with the ones I’d seen till I stumbled across this brand. I got the Stila Artist Essentials Set as an early Xmas gift from my mom and it’s set the tone for 2015.

image

image

image

What do I like about this set? Several things. It comes in a sleek, earthy box with a clasp in front which keeps the content together. It’s lightweight and  compact size, makes it easier to travel with. I don’t have to worry about makeup spilling on my clothes or having to store it in a Ziploc bag. The clasp was well thought out.
This box contains the following items :
– 4 different sets of palette ranging from pop art, renaissance, abstract and surreal.
– #9 all over blend brush for applying and smudging your eyeliner or eyeshadow.
– smudge stick waterproof eyeliner in stingray.
– a convertible color dual lip & cheek cream.
– stay all day liquid lipstick in patina

image

image

I forgot to mention it’s got an instruction sheet on how to blend the different palette to achieve whatever look you may be going for.

image

image

Each palette type is represented on the instruction sheet making it easy to interprete.

image

image

image

My first impressions? I love, love this makeup brand and I’m sold. I started by checking out the instruction sheet to see which of the looks I wanted to interprete. I settled for ‘pop art’ and went to work with my brush. I was done within 5 minutes. That’s a first as I usually spend a lot of time wiping off and doing up a new set once I’m not satisfied with my look. With the manual it was easy at a go. I applied the eyeliner and used the blend brush to smudge the lined eyes for a smoky effect.
For my lips, I decided to go with the ‘all day liquid lipstick in patina’. I must warn that a little goes a long way. I ate, drank loads of water and this lipstick stayed put throughout the day. I was pleasantly surprised to see that my entire makeup stayed put throughout the day. The eyeshadow stayed true to form all day.

image

image

I haven’t used the lip/cheek cream but based on the experience I’ve had so far, I do not expect anything less. This is definitely a keeper for me.
For ladies who made specific requests for this brand, your package will be delivered tomorrow and I hope you enjoy creating different looks like I’ve done.
I’ll be back tomorrow with another fab find.

Leave a Reply

