Hair Regimen Changes


The interesting thing about a personal hair journey, is the ability to learn and try new practices. When I met with Stevid to discuss changes to my hair regimen, I’ll always remember what she said. “Honey, you gotta learn to treat your relaxed hair in its current state”. Basically, she meant using appropriate products and techniques for my hair type.
I’ve got fine strands and one major element I’ve had to contend with is finding the right leave in conditioner that won’t weigh my hair down irrespective of the frequency at which I use it during the week. I’ve used Giovañni Weightless, Elasta QP, Advanced Biolage Matrix successfully by using pea sized amounts while following up with a natural oil to seal. However, it can be tiring after a hard day at work mustering up the energy to do this on a daily basis.
I wanted a fuss free regimen that won’t require more than 2-3 hours max on wash days and 5 minutes maintenance schedule during the week. Basis my explanation, she drew up a new regimen for me. I’ve had the opportunity to implement for the past 6weeks and it’s been liberating.
What changes were recommended?
* Trim my ends monthly.
* Reduce my relaxer stretch from 6 months to 4 months.
* Use a paddle brush 3 times weekly to stimulate my scalp.
* Incorporate the use of a hair supplement.
*Incorporate blow drying on cool once weekly.
*Stop sealing with a natural oil & incorporate the use of a creamy leave in.
At the end of 90 days, I’ll send in pictures of my scalp, ends and hair length. She’ll analyse and we’ll meet on Skype to discuss my progress. I shared my lazy attitude with popping hair pills and she recommended I try this hair vitamin out.

image

image

I only need to take 1 microlozenge daily and it’s got this natural strawberry flavour. It’s like popping Vitamin C….
Makes my life easier. So far, I’ve been good with this one.
She recommended I start indulging in 100 brush strokes, 3 times weekly before going to bed as it stimulates the scalp for growth and prevents split ends. The key to successful brushing is to ensure that your bristle is soft, widely spaced and you’re using a creamy leave in. You also need to brush in small sections…

image

This was the brush she recommended I got for my hair type. The biggest change was when we had to decide on the type of leave in conditioner to use going forward. She requested I bring with me, previous samples of leave in conditioners I’ve used over the course of one year. I went with Elasta QP, Giovañni Weightless, Advanced Biolage Matrix.
Once I got to her salon, we went into demo mode. She took a swipe of each leave in and applied it to her inner wrist. She proceeded to rub lightly and would ask me what I observed. I noticed that the leave in just sat there and it wasn’t absorbed. She went ahead and applied same to small sections of my freshly blow dried hair, it was the same reaction we got. She stopped at this point and informed me that once my leave in was not creamy & oily, then it’s not good enough for my strands. From her explanation, it was clear that the products just sat on my hair and it wasn’t absorbed. Partial absorption actually occurred when we sealed with a natural oil. The oil aided further penetration.
At this point, she brought out what she felt was more appropriate for my hair type.

image

image

The first bottle is ideally suited for ladies with thicker hair strands while the 2nd bottle is for ladies with fine strands like myself. The tag line on the 2nd bottle states “for ends that bend not break”. This product does exactly just that. I’ve had the pure pleasure of using it for the past 6weeks and wearing my hair out daily has been a pure joy. Talk about ends that bend….that’s what I got and those days where my ends got snagged on my clothes are now over.

image

image

Upon application, my hair was lapping it up as I could see it was completely absorbed. My hair was left with a shine and sheen that was unbelievable. After application was complete, she divided my hair into smaller sections and began to brush starting from my ends while working her way up to the roots. No snagging, ripping or tangles…It was easy breezy. The beauty about this product…your hair is not weighed down. It allows your hair to move in its natural state. My hair remained soft and fluffy all through the week and my ends….In tip top shape. Both bottles will be available on our website next week. You can place a pre order now.

4 thoughts on “Hair Regimen Changes

  1. Chichi says:

    Hello Jan, congrats on our new find because I am sooo getting my share of this national cake soon. Lol. Plz I want to place an order for that same paddle brush. If the Hollywood beauty mayonnaise cream is a protein leave in, so what moisture leave in can we use now seeing as the giovanni weightless moisture isn’t all that anymore?

Leave a Reply

